LibGuides: Subject Specific Resources: Choose your subject

Newspapers

Detroit Free Press

US Major News Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.

Browse Specific Papers

Chicago Tribune Top news stories and more from 1985 - present.
Los Angeles Times Covering reporting by this paper from 1985 - present

New York Times This link opens in a new window
- How do I access this resource?
  Use this link while on campus to create an account using your school email address. If you already have an NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address, log in with those credentials. Check your email inbox for our confirmation message. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass.
- Why use this resource?
  Access to the New York Times website includes Time Topics and current event articles, as well as their archive of newspapers held in their "Times Machine"
- What types of sources will you find here?
  Primary Source documents, Articles, Book Reviews, Current Events, Editorials
- How do you cite this?
  In general, what you find here is an Article from Newspaper you found online. You may need to include if the article was also printed in their print paper.

USA Today Full text coverage from 1997 to present. For older coverage search Proquest US Newstream or Proquest Historic Newspapers
Wall Street Journal Full text coverage from 1984 to today. For older articles, try Proquest Historic Newspapers
Washington Post Full text of articles from the Post from 1996 to present.

Browse News Archives

Chronicling America Search historic newspaper pages around the US from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Historic Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- Why use this resource?
  Read the full text of historic articles as they were displayed in the paper at the time.
  Pro Tip! Use the limiters on the right side to narrow searches by years or document type
- What types of sources will you find here?
  Primary source Newspaper articles from the mid 1700's to the early 2000's.
- How do you cite this?
  The Detail view will provide much of the information needed to cite this source correctly. You can also click the quotation marks on the top right to see how to Cite the source and Export Directly to NoodleTools. Be aware that their citations often need corrections.

Browse Multiple News Sources

International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- Why use this resource?
  This resource includes new articles from Asia, Latin America, Europe, Australia and New Zealand, the Middle East and Africa. Use this resource to find recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades.
- What types of sources will you find here?
  Full text Primary Source Newspaper Articles, Newswires, and news sites.
- How do you cite this?
  The Detail view will provide much of the information needed to cite this source correctly. You can also click the quotation marks on the top right to see how to Cite the source and Export Directly to NoodleTools. Be aware that their citations often need corrections.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Why use this resource? Use this resource to find news articles for events that took place in the US or other countries. This database Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers and more than 35 million full-text articles, as well as television and radio transcripts.What types of sources will you find here? The source only has records and full text for newspaper articles, but those articles can be from around the world.How do you cite this? Cite this source as a Newspaper article found in a Database. Remember to choose the Permalink when giving the URL. You can also do a Direct Export to NoodleTools.
- Why use this resource?
  Use this resource to find news articles for events that took place in the US or other countries.
- What types of sources will you find here?
  The source only has records and full text for newspaper articles, but those articles can be from around the world.
- How do you cite this?
  Cite this source as a Newspaper article found in a Database. Remember to choose the Permalink when giving the URL. You can also do a Direct Export to NoodleTools.
US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- Why use this resource?
  This source carries the full text of a large number national papers including the Boston Globe, LA Times, Washington Post to name just few. Many of these papers have up-to-the-date entries. This source also allows you to translate the resource text into another language. For historic articles, visit the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
- What types of sources will you find here?
  The majority of resources in this database are Newspaper articles of current events, though you may occasionally find magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
- How do you cite this?
  This is a Database. Most items here will be Newspaper articles and the information you need will be at the top of the page. You can also click the Cite button on the top right to Export Directly to NoodleTools.

Upper School Databases

Newspapers

Interdisciplinary Magazines