Home - AH&G, gr.11 | Definitive History of Your Birthday

Browse A Paper

Detroit Free Press - Historical News This link opens in a new window Why use this resource?Visit this site to find full text articles from the Detroit Free Press from 1831-1999.
Historic Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Database of historic issues of the Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Los Angeles Times, and the New York Times.
- Why use this resource?
  Read the full text of historic articles as they were displayed in the paper at the time.
  Pro Tip! Use the limiters on the right side to narrow searches by years or document type
- What types of sources will you find here?
  Primary source Newspaper articles from the mid 1700's to the early 2000's.
- How do you cite this?
  The Detail view will provide much of the information needed to cite this source correctly. You can also click the quotation marks on the top right to see how to Cite the source and Export Directly to NoodleTools. Be aware that their citations often need corrections.
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the U.S. and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires and news sites in active full-text format.
- Why use this resource?
  This resource includes new articles from Asia, Latin America, Europe, Australia and New Zealand, the Middle East and Africa. Use this resource to find recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades.
- What types of sources will you find here?
  Full text Primary Source Newspaper Articles, Newswires, and news sites.
- How do you cite this?
  The Detail view will provide much of the information needed to cite this source correctly. You can also click the quotation marks on the top right to see how to Cite the source and Export Directly to NoodleTools. Be aware that their citations often need corrections.
New York Times This link opens in a new window Members of the CKUS community have access to individual accounts to this resourceNews, reportage, and editorial articles from The New York Times. 
- How do I access this resource?
  Use this link while on campus to create an account using your school email address. If you already have an NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address, log in with those credentials. Check your email inbox for our confirmation message. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass.
- Why use this resource?
  Access to the New York Times website includes Time Topics and current event articles, as well as their archive of newspapers held in their "Times Machine"
- What types of sources will you find here?
  Primary Source documents, Articles, Book Reviews, Current Events, Editorials
- How do you cite this?
  In general, what you find here is an Article from Newspaper you found online. You may need to include if the article was also printed in their print paper.

Today's Front Page Explore the front page of newspapers from around the US and around the world on this site from Freedom Forum. Updated daily.

US Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Database of current newspapers with detailed indexing which enables users to search not only top news stories but also the information contained in various sections of the papers.
- Why use this resource?
  This source carries the full text of a large number national papers including the Boston Globe, LA Times, Washington Post to name just few. Many of these papers have up-to-the-date entries. This source also allows you to translate the resource text into another language. For historic articles, visit the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
- What types of sources will you find here?
  The majority of resources in this database are Newspaper articles of current events, though you may occasionally find magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
- How do you cite this?
  This is a Database. Most items here will be Newspaper articles and the information you need will be at the top of the page. You can also click the Cite button on the top right to Export Directly to NoodleTools.

Browse A Paper

Cite Your Sources

Access Off Campus

Research Tips and Tricks