Select an Encounter - Roebuck | The Taker World - LibGuides at Cranbrook Schools

Britain and

Zimbabwe
Australia

Great Zimbabwe
The article, from a 2005 issue of Scientific American, profiles the ancient Shona city of Great Zimbabwe, which stood at the hub of a vast trade network and has also been at the center of a bitter debate about African history and heritage.
History of Zimbabwe
This article from Country Reports provides a great timeline of this country from early history to British Settlement and beyond.
Natives and the Land
Article in the 1929 issue of The Nation discussing a shift in British policy in Rhodesia.
Shona People (Wikipedia)
Zimbabwe
A description of the history of Zimbabwe with multiple hyperlinks to other important people and places involved in this area.

A British Genocide in Tasmania.
This article from History Today discusses the history and destruction of indigenous people in Tasmania, Australia by British colonial authorities in the 19th century. The author reflects on conflict over land between settlers and native populations and the imperial development of the island.
A Dispossion Primer
Hardly a day goes by without a reference somewhere in public discourse to Aboriginal "dispossession", so it seems time to attempt a summary—a primer—of what actually happened.
History of Indigenous Australians (Wikipedia)

China in Tibet

Crown in Peril
1950 article from Time Magazine about China's entrance into Tibet.
Into Tibet: Trade and Illusions
The author makes comparisons between 18th century Western beliefs in regards to the relationship between China and Tibet and modern political realities involving the same. In 1774-75, George Bogle of the East India Company spent the winter months at Tibet's Tashilhunpo monastery in the Himalayan Mountains with the Panchen Lama. His accounts have shaded modern Western beliefs about Tibet.
Sinicization of Tibet (Wikipedia)
Tibetan sovereignty debate (Wikipedia)
Tibet through Chinese Eyes
The article examines foreign relations between Tibet and China from the point of view of Chinese people. The author maintains that while Chinese people living in Tibet view themselves as missionaries of progress, Tibetans view the Chinese as cultural imperialists. A brief history of relations between China and Tibet is presented, including the Chinese belief that Tibet has always been a part of China.

Columbus and the Spanish in the Caribbean

Christopher Who?
Columbus kept a daily journal recording his encounters with the indigenous peoples of the New World. But what did they think of him? This article answers that question and more.
Taino (Wikipedia)
Taino encounters
A description of a museum exhibit that features artifacts of the Taino people.
Tall is her body: Dominica and its Carib people
Information about one of the indigenous communities of the Caribbean and how they fare today.

US Expansion

Alaska

Alaska Natives (Wikipedia)
Prehistory of Alaska (Wikipedia)
Russia Saves Alaska for Us
The article recounts how Alaska was sold to the U.S. by Russia for a mere 7,200,000 dollars in 1867, in part due to the success of Alaska's first Russian governor, Aleksandr Andreievich Baranov. Topics discussed include number of years Baranov was marooned in Alaska, reason he decided to marry Anooka, the daughter of a native chief, and information on the Battle of Sitka, led by Tlingit Indians Chief Katlian.
Traders and soldiers in Russian America
Before 1867, Alaska was a Russian fur-trading colory, its values and laws derived from Moscow, and, in part, from the European Enlightenment. This article looks at the relations between the colonists and the native peoples.
A living heritage: the Alutiiq story.
This 2001 article from Humanities magazine provides insight into culture and history of those who lived on Kodiak Island.

More to Learn About

British Expansion

Great Zimbabwe by Martin Hall; Rebecca Stefoff This 48 page book about this early culture helps explain the culture of the time and the first "settlers" who arrived there.Chapter 4 is especially relevant.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006

British aims in Africa 1949 Foreign Affairs article about reasons to enter into Africa
British South Africa Company (Wikipedia)
Great Zimbabwe (Wikipedia)
Great Zimbabwe's Trading Past Recent excavations have revealed new information about the mysterious Great Zimbabwe ruins in Africa. The 16th-century Chinese pottery fragments, Arabian glass, and other artifacts discovered at the site suggest that a sophisticated trading society lived at Great Zimbabwe generations before the area was colonized by Europeans

Chinese Expansion

Tale of two Tibets This article from 1997 discusses the division between the Tibet community in exile and the one living in their homeland.
Tibet 2023 encyclopedia entry on Tibet that includes history of the country, native peoples, and cultural elements.
Tibet's position in Asia today The article discusses Tibet's 1931 position in Asia. It is a hard country, breeding a hardy people, who in consequence went out and overran the territories of their neighbors in China, Turkestan and India.
Tibet Death by Consumerism As part of its “civilising mission”– and to deter independence – China is taking control of the Tibetan economy. Modernity is being imposed by force, creating ghettos and spreading deprivation across the countryside.A 2007 article.

Columbus Expansion

A Journey with Christopher Columbus by Stuart A. Kallen Chapter 2 provides a description of the encournter between Columbus and the indigenous communities in the Caribbean.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017

Chapter One: Columbus and the Indigenous Caribbean This chapter from the book, The Story of the Jamaican People, covers information about the land and people that predate Columbus, but also discusses the impact his voyages had on this region.
Chapter Two: The Caribbean Before and After Columbus This chapter from the book, In Cross Roads of Empire, provides data on pre-Columbian populations as well as the impact of the encounter. Names of indigenous communities are also included here.
Sea kings of the Antilles Article about the Carib people and their encounters with Columbus.

US Expansion

Letter from Alaska: Aleuts and the Sea For thousands of years the Aleut survived and adapted to an environment of catastrophic earthquakes, tsunamis, climate change, and hundreds of volcanic eruptions. But now, after 600 generations as fishermen, sea mammal hunters, and warriors, the Alaska Peninsula Aleut are finally faced with their own extinction because of the side effects of fisheries management policies, U.S. environmental groups, and cheap farmed salmon.
Native culture: A new discovery rewrites the history of Alaska's Alutiiq Eskimo Reports that archaeologist Rick Knecht, in a dig on Alaska's Afognak Island, has unearthed evidence which could rewrite the history of the Pacific Eskimos in the archipelago. Some of the artifacts found at the site of an ancient Alutiiq settlement; How the culture extends back 7,000 years; How this changes the previous theory that the Alutiiq culture was a product of migration of outsiders; Complex culture and distinctive social structure.
The North American Indian : Being a Series of Volumes Picturing and Describing the Indians of the United States, the Dominion of Canada, and Alaska Volume #20 of 20 in The North American Indian series contains detailed information on the The Alaskan Eskimo, The Nunivak Eskimo of Hooper Bay, Eskimo of King island, Eskimo of Little Diomede island, Eskimo of Cape Prince of Wales, The Kotzebue Eskimo, The Noatak, The Kobuk, The Selawik. The subject areas covered on each tribe are histories, customs, ceremonies, mythologies and comparative vocabularies.
The Hunt: In Native Alaska, whaling ties people to history, culture, and one another A 2017 article from Orion magazine that includes images.

Britannica

Country Reports

CultureGrams

Ebsco E-Books

Explora

Britain and

China in Tibet

Columbus and the Spanish in the Caribbean

US Expansion

More to Learn About

British Expansion

Chinese Expansion

Columbus Expansion

US Expansion